Home > Technology

Technology

Principle of Whispering Gallery Mode Excitation in Microparticles

In the following, we want to outline the central aspects of our novel sensing technology based on whispering gallery mode excitations in microparticles.

Whispering gallery mode (WGM): light wave circulating at the equator of a spherical microparticle via total internal reflection. The light wave needs to fulfill the following resonator condition to gain high intensity.

Equation 1 equation 1 where m = 1, 2, 3, … : is the mode number
λm: is the wavelength of WGM with mode number m,
n is the particle’s refractive index,
and R is the particle radius

Equation 1 links the wavelength of the WGMs with the physical properties of the microparticle, i.e. its refractive index and size. Accordingly, any change in these parameters will cause a change in the wavelength positions and/or width of the WGMs. Figure 1 exemplifies this interrelation for the case of a process of adsorption onto the particle surface.

figure 1Figure 1
Principle of whispering gallery mode excitation in a spherical microparticle and its use for the quantification of adsorbate levels on the particle surface.

In fact, equation 1 is only an approximation and a closer treatment within the framework of Mie-Debye theory reveals that the WGMs’ position and width is also influenced by the particle’s environment. In simple terms, this can be motivated by considering the light circulation inside of the particle as caused by repetitive total internal reflections (TIRs) at the particle/ambient interface. TIR, however, depends on the index contrast between particle and ambient.

Therefore, the micro sensors may also be used to measure local refractive indices and chemical concentrations in microvolumina, e.g., in microfluidic systems. For details, we refer to A. Francois und M. Himmelhaus, Sensors 9 (9), 6836 – 6852 (2009) and references therein.

top

Our Implementation of the Sensing Principle

In practice, operation of the sensors in a complex microfluidic environment demands for a simple and smart way of WGM excitation and detection. For this reason, we apply the simplest conceivable scheme: fluorescent microparticles are optically excited via a focused light beam, e.g. from a laser or LED source. While most of the fluorescence emission will be scattered from the particle, a small portion is trapped inside of the particle via TIR and populates the particle’s WGMs. The latter become visible in the fluorescence spectrum of the particle as narrow peaks, as shown in Figure 2.

figure 2Figure 2
Fluorescence excitation of a polystyrene microparticle with a nominal size of 10 µm:
LOWER IMAGE: Emission of a spherical and of an odd-shaped particle; the latter one resembles the spectral characteristics of the emission of the dye molecules in absence of the particle. For the measurement, a droplet of the aqueous particle suspension was placed onto a microscopy cover slip located on an inverse microscope; UPPER IMAGE: Difference spectrum of the spectra shown in the lower image; WGMs are now clearly discernible; peaks of different linewidth originate from WGMs of different order.


With this excitation scheme, the micro sensor is optically excited and detected, which means it is basically remote-controlled and may wonder about in a liquid of basically any kind (as long the latter is transparent in the spectral range of particle operation, which however can be tuned to match the needs of the respective application). In addition, the absence of any need to mechanically control the particle allows the reduction of particle size to the smallest possible under the respective conditions. For example, for application in an aqueous environment, we apply routinely particles with diameters of 5-15 µm. This small size facilitates application of the sensor particles inside of microfluidic systems and – as shown below – even inside of live cells.

Another advantage of fluorescence excitation of WGMs is the high signal strength that can be achieved, which further simplifies the instrumentation required for operation of the micro sensors.

top

System Characteristics & Specifications

Sensor particle: Size (depending on ambient): 3 – 15 µm
Exication range: 450 – 550 nm
Emission range: 490 – 650 nm
Core material: polystyrene (standard)
Surface: routinely coated with layers of polyelectrolytes
other coatings as well as surface functionalization (proteins, DNA) on request
Excitation: Via laser or more cost-effectively via LEDs
Detection: Via highly resolving spectrographs with an optical resolution of about 1.5 cm-1 (corresponding to λopt = 0.036 nm, i.e., 0.012 nm/px.)

Specifications:

Performance of 10 µm polystyrene sensor particles (excitation around 450 nm, detection in the range 490 – 510 nm) has been validated as follows:

Mass detection limit for adsorbates:a 50 fg
Minimum detectable coating thickness:b 0.11 nm
Minimum detectable refractive index change of the ambient:c 2 x 10-4
Minimum detectable particle deformation:d 1 nm
Minimum detectable WGM peak shift:e 0.01 nm

References:
a A. Francois, S. Krishnamoorthy, M. Himmelhaus, Proc. SPIE 6862, 68620Q/1-8 (2008)
b A. Francois, M. Himmelhaus, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 141107/1-3 (2008)
c A. Francois, M. Himmelhaus, Sensors 9, 6836-6852 (2009)
d A. Francois and M. Himmelhaus, Biosens. Bioelectron. 25 (2), 418-427 (2009)
e applying our spectrograph model WGM01-2010

top

Application Examples

Application Example 1:
Quantification of Adsorption Layers on the Particle Surface

Target: Coating of 10 µm fluorescent polystyrene microparticles with alternating layers of differently charged polyelectrolytes (PEs). WGM spectra of single beads and clusters were acquired in situ in a microfluidic flow cell before and after each coating step. For details, we refer to A. Francois & M. Himmelhaus, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 141107/1-3 (2008).

example 1 part 1

example 1 part 2


Application Example 2:
Sensing of Biomechanical Forces

Our sensor particles are sufficiently small for phagocytosis when exposed to live cells, such as macrophages. During this entire process of engulfment by the cell, our sensors can be operated, thereby yielding unrivaled insight into the biomechanics of the process of endocytosis. The data given below gives a brief overview over the key points of this novel approach. For details, we refer to A. Francois and M. Himmelhaus, Biosens. Bioelectron. 25 (2), 418-427 (2009).

Macrophage during endocytosis (incorporation) of a 10 µm WGM Sensor (Courtesy of Dr. Heike Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut Stuttgart)

example 2 part 1

Changes in the whispering gallery modes during the process of endocytosis:

example 2 part 2

top

Contact

NanoBioAnalytics
Dr. Michael Himmelhaus

Poststraße 4
07616 Bürgel, Germany

Phone
+49-(0)36 692 / 36 26 24

FAX
+49-(0)36 692 / 36 26 28

info@nanobioanalytics.com
www.nanobioanalytics.com

for Kyowa-Products:
kyowa@nanobioanalytics.com

Privacy Policy

Sie sind hier: Technologie

Technologie

Prinzip der Resonanzmoden- Anregung in Mikropartikeln

Im Folgenden möchten wir Ihnen kurz die wesentlichen Aspekte der optischen Mikrosensorik auf Basis von Resonanzmoden-Anregungen in Mikropartikeln erläutern:

Eine Resonanzmode (engl. „Whispering Gallery Mode“; WGM) ist eine Lichtwelle, die über Totalreflexion im Innern eines sphärischen Mikropartikels entlang des Äquators zirkuliert. Die Welle muss dabei folgende Resonanzbedingung erfüllen, um hohe Intensität zu erreichen:

Gleichung 1 Gleichung mit m = 1, 2, 3, … : Modenzahl
λm: Wellenlänge der Resonanzmode mit der Modenzahl m
n: Brechungsindex des Mikropartikels
R: Partikelradius

Aus diesem Zusammenhang zwischen Wellenlänge der Resonanzmode sowie Brechungsindex und Größe des Mikropartikels wird deutlich, dass sich jede Änderung in Größe oder den optischen Eigenschaften des Mikropartikels in einer Änderung der Resonanzmoden widerspiegelt. Abbildung 1 veranschaulicht dies für den Fall einer Adsorption auf der Partikeloberfläche.

legende1Abbildung 1
Prinzip der Resonanzmoden (Whispering Gallery Mode)– Anregung in sphärischen Mikropartikeln und der Bestimmung von Adsorbatmengen auf der Partikeloberfläche


Tatsächlich ist Gleichung 1 nur eine Näherung und Position und Breite der Resonanzmoden hängen nicht nur von den optischen Eigenschaften des Mikropartikels, sondern auch von denen seiner Umgebung ab. Denn um das Licht im Partikel halten zu können, muss es an der Grenzfläche zwischen Partikel und Umgebung immer wieder total reflektiert werden. In die Gesetze für Totalreflexion geht aber das Verhältnis der Brechungsindizes von Partikel und seiner Umgebung ein.

Es lassen sich deshalb auch lokale Brechungsindizes in der Umgebung des Sensorpartikels bestimmen, wodurch beispielsweise auch die Messung von Konzentrationsprofilen in Mikrovolumina, wie etwa denen von Analyten in Mikrokanälen, möglich wird. Für Einzelheiten verweisen wir auf den open access Artikel A. Francois und M. Himmelhaus, Sensors 9 (9), 6836 – 6852 (2009).

top

Unsere Umsetzung des Meßprinzips

In der Praxis stellt sich die Frage nach einer einfachen und möglichst geschickten Anregung der Resonanzmoden. Je kleiner das Sensorpartikel, desto schwieriger die Kopplung an die Außenwelt. Wir nutzen deshalb ein denkbar einfaches Prinzip: Fluoreszente Mikropartikel, also Partikel, die mit einem fluoreszierenden Farbstoff befüllt sind, werden durch Lichteinstrahlung von außen, beispielsweise durch einen Laserstrahl, zur Fluoreszenz angeregt. Während ein Großteil des Fluoreszenzlichts aus dem Partikel entweicht, wird ein Teil davon über Totalreflexion in seinem Innern gefangen und beginnt wie oben beschrieben zu zirkulieren. Die auf diese Weise angeregten Resonanzmoden werden im Fluoreszenzspektrum des Partikels sichtbar, wie in Abbildung 2 gezeigt.

legende 2Abbildung 2
Fluoreszenz-Anregungen in Polystyrol- Partikeln von nominal 10 µm Durchmesser:
UNTERES BILD: Emission eines sphärischen sowie eines ungleichmäßig geformten Partikels. Letzteres zeigt nur die Emissionskurve des Farbstoffs ohne überlagerte Resonanzmoden. Beide Partikel befanden sich während der Messung in reinem Wasser auf einem Mikroskop-Deckglas; OBERES BILD: Differenz der beiden Spektren aus der unteren Abbildung. Die Resonanzmoden (engl. „Whispering Gallery Modes“) sind nun deutlich sichtbar. Die Peaks unterschiedlicher Breite stammen von Resonanzen verschiedener Ordnung.


Das Partikel wird also optisch angeregt und optisch ausgelesen, was bedeutet, dass es sich völlig ungebunden in einer Lösung bewegen kann: es handelt sich um einen „ferngesteuerten“ Mikrosensor. Außerdem lassen sich mit diesem einfachen Anregungsprinzip sehr kleine Partikel als Resonanzmoden- Sensoren (im folgenden oft kurz auch WGM- Sensoren genannt) betreiben, die beispielsweise in Mikrokanäle eingebracht oder sogar – wie im Anwendungsbeispiel 2 weiter unten gezeigt – von lebenden Zellen aufgenommen werden können.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Vorteil der Fluoreszenzanregung ist die hohe Signalstärke, die die Instrumentierung vereinfacht und so die Systemkosten deutlich absenkt.

top

Systemeigenschaften & Spezifikationen

Sensorpartikel:Größe je nach Umgebung 3 – 15 µm
Anregung bei 450 – 550 nm
Emission von 490 – 650 nm
Kern-Material: Polystyrol (Standard)
Oberfläche: standardmäßig beschichtet mit Polyelektrolyten,
andere Beschichtungen und Funktionalisierungen (Proteine, DNA) auf Anfrage
Anregung:Über Laser oder kostengünstig über LED- Lichtquellen
Detektion:Über einen hochauflösenden Spektrographen, optische Auflösung 1.5 cm-1 (entspricht λopt = 0.036 nm oder 0.012 nm/Pixel)

Spezifikationen:

Folgende Leistungsfähigkeit wurde nachgewiesen für Sensorpartikel mit einem Durchmesser von 10 µm bei Anregung um 450 nm und Fluoreszenzemission im Bereich 490 – 510 nm:

Massendetektionslimit für Adsorbate:a 50 fg
Minimal detektierbare Schichtdicke für Adsorbate:b 0.11 nm
Minimal detektierbare Änderung im Brechungsindex der
Partikelumgebung:c 2 x 10-4
Minimal detektierbare Partikel- Deformation:d 1 nm
Minimal detektierbare Moden- Verschiebung:e 0.01 nm

Nachweise:
a A. Francois, S. Krishnamoorthy, M. Himmelhaus, Proc. SPIE 6862, 68620Q/1-8 (2008)
b A. Francois, M. Himmelhaus, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 141107/1-3 (2008)
c A. Francois, M. Himmelhaus, Sensors 9, 6836-6852 (2009)
d A. Francois and M. Himmelhaus, Biosens. Bioelectron. 25 (2), 418-427 (2009)
e mit unserem Standard- Spektrometer Modell Nr. WGM01-2010

top

Anwendungsbeispiele

Anwendungsbeispiel 1:
Bestimmung von Adsorbatmengen auf der Partikeloberfläche

Experiment: Beschichtung von fluoreszenten 10 µm Polystyrolpartikeln in reinem Wasser mit unterschiedich geladenen Polyelektrolyten (PEs). Die WGM- Spektren von einzelnen Mikropartikeln sowie von aus mehreren Partikeln bestehenden Clustern werden in Abhängigkeit von der Zahl der aufgebrachten Doppellagen gemessen. Für Einzelheiten siehe A. Francois & M. Himmelhaus, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 141107/1-3 (2008).

Anwendung teil 1

Anwendung Teil 2


Anwendungsbeispiel 2: Messung biomechanischer Kräfte

Die von uns eingesetzten Sensorpartikel sind klein genug, um von lebenden Zellen gefressen zu werden. Während dieser sogenannten „Phagozytose“ kann der Sensor weiter betrieben werden, also die Resonanzmoden aufgezeichnet werden. Die folgenden Bildern illustrieren kurz die wesentlichen Punkte dieses neuen Verfahrens zur Messung biomechanischer Kräfte, also der Kräfte, die von den Zellen während des Freßvorgangs auf das Sensorpartikel ausgeübt werden. Für Einzelheiten verweisen wir auf A. Francois and M. Himmelhaus, Biosens. Bioelectron. 25 (2), 418-427 (2009).

Macrophage während der Phagozytose (Inkorporation) eines 10 µm WGM-Sensors (mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Dr. Heike Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut Stuttgart)

Anwendungsbeispiel 2 Teil 2

Änderung der Resonanzmoden während der Phagozytose:

Anwednungsbeispiel 2

top

Kontakt

Dr. Michael Himmelhaus
NanoBioAnalytics

Max-Planck-Str. 3
12489 Berlin

Telefon
+49-(0)30 / 63 922 198

Telefax
+49-(0)30 / 63 922 170

info@nanobioanalytics.com
www.nanobioanalytics.com

Für Kyowa-Produkte:
kyowa@nanobioanalytics.com